Avery Maharaja

Basic Info:
Name:
Maharaja
Origin: Avery Brewing Co., Boulder, CO
Style: Imperial/Double IPA
ABV: 10.3%
IBU: varies, but way up there (I’m guessing somewhere between 85-100+)
I drank this: on tap at Barley’s

Let me preface this by illustrating what a beer of this caliber can do.  First of all, it made my brother’s Grimbergen (a Belgian ale, but I’m not sure what variety)(because of the Maharaja)(the Maharaja is, shall we say, STRONG) taste like apples.  Apples.  Really.  The Grimbergen could have been a cider for all my tastebuds could tell.

That was after one sip of the Maharaja.  Hops are awesome.

Do not, under any circumstances, go near this beer if you don’t love hops with a passion bordering on the psychotic (I do love hops this much, so I’m good here).  This is glorious, glorious hops all the way through, from the nose to the taste to the aftertaste.  The hops here are predominantly grapefruity, with a slight herbal/pine tinge, and a strongly bitter (but not sour/mouthpuckering) aftertaste.  It’s glorious.  The malt is there insofar as it gives this beer a nice mouthfeel – nice and round and smooth but not imperial stout-level thick and heavy. (I’m picky on malt in IPA.  IPAs which forget their malts – Granite City’s IPA is a notable offender here – tend to be really thin, like drinking bitter water.  Beer should be thicker than water, in my opinion.)

I want a perfume of this beer so that I could smell of its lovely hop bouquet.  The Maharaja is pretty much everything an Imperial IPA should be – intensely hoppy, malty enough to carry that much hop flavor, grapefruity, sparkling, enough alcohol to notice its presence but with enough hops that the alcohol flavor blends in with everything else.  This is glorious. 

Final note: really, you should probably drink only one of these unless your tolerance far surpasses mine.  To give an idea of the effect of half of one of these, let me explain the conversation that took place between my husband, my brother, and my funemployed self while sipping this beer.  There aren’t millions of full-time jobs out there for writers, so I asked Alan and Tony what I should do for a living as a backup plan.  Here are their suggestions:
– ninja
– master thief
– giant robot pilot
– professional assassin
– Cookie Monster
– Superman
– Tony: “A carnie.”  Alan: “No carnies.”
– firefighter
– Power Ranger (there was some disagreement as to whether or not this should be considered a subcategory of the giant robot pilot career path)
– mad scientist
– Dr. Horrible

So.  Like I said.  This should probably be a one-only type of beer.

About Kim

Kim spends a lot of time writing, thinking about writing, reading, writing more and dealing with writer's block. When she's not writing, she might be found having a beer. She often combines the writing experience with the beer experience. The combination tends to lead to more creativity but significantly impaired spelling.
This entry was posted in Beer Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Avery Maharaja

  1. LindaR says:

    Where was I when this was ongoing? I missed it! And you wonder why I left for the ER without telling you. Sheesh. Payback for the notCoke on the kitchen counter many years ago? I’m sure that had to be Daddoo. I’d never leave a good beer unattended.

  2. The whole “Kim should be a ninja” conversation took place at Barleys during happy hour a week ago, right after Tony and Alan spent five minutes trying to decipher my apparently comically illegible handwriting. Twas fun(ny), especially when the IPA kicked in.

Leave a Reply

