Lukas Liquors – a “For Science” update

Just how awesome is Lukas Liquors Superstore?  People, they’re so awesome that someone (maybe the manager?  I didn’t get his name, which I’m smacking myself for at this point, because he was super helpful), upon my explanation as to why I wanted these horrors, let me bust up two non-bust-up-able six-packs of vile, awful scarybeer for the sole purpose of torturing myself for your benefit.  Expect the lulz this weekend.

So, thanks to the Lukas Liquors at 13657 Washington Street, Kansas City, MO 64145 (i.e., roughly 135th and State Line-ish), I now have two bottles each of Michelob Ultra Raspberry Pomegranate and two bottles of Michelob Lime Cactus.  At the behest of the person who was helping me out, I also got an O’Fallon Pumpkin Beer and a Boulevard Bob’s 47 Oktoberfest to round out the 6-pack.  While there, I also snagged a gueze (which, if its anything like the last gueze I tried, will be another “post for public amusement” type review) and a Southern Tier Pumking Pumpkin Imperial Stout, the last of which makes me so happy I could cry REAL TEARS because I completely missed the Pumking last year and was really sad. 

I also got some devastatingly bad news, which is that Stone Brewing doesn’t distribute in either Kansas or Missouri.  So, people of the liquor control boards in these states, GET OFF YOUR ARSES AND GET US SOME STONE.

Anyway, because they were so awesome to me, let me take a second to pimp Lukas to everyone.  It’s basically a ginormous well-stocked boozy funderland* of alcohol.  And they have pretty much everything you could hope for (except Stone’s Arrogant Bastard, which isn’t their fault), up to and including $1300 bottles of cognac.  The selection is stupefying.  So go:  if it’s available in the state, it’s available there.

Organizational note:  I’m shoving this under the “Better Know a Bar” category not because it’s a bar, but because creating a tab called “Better Know a Booze Store” seemed a little silly.  Besides, there’s a wine-tasting area in the Lukas on State Line, so in that respect it could count as a bar.  I haven’t actually sampled anything in the wine-tasting area, but that’s irrelevant to my point.

*My apologies for this word, as it’s the type of word what’s usually created by the type of marketing person I hate.  But I came up with this word in the shower and had to subject you to it.  If I’m going to torture myself for the benefit of you people, I have to be able to dish a little back as well 😀

About Kim

Kim spends a lot of time writing, thinking about writing, reading, writing more and dealing with writer's block. When she's not writing, she might be found having a beer. She often combines the writing experience with the beer experience. The combination tends to lead to more creativity but significantly impaired spelling.
This entry was posted in Better Know a Bar and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lukas Liquors – a “For Science” update

  1. Those Michelob ones aren’t as bad as you might think. For a little white (a month or so, I think) I really liked that lime cactus one. I don’t think I like it anymore, but there was a phase where it’s kinda weird flavor was something I liked.

    You’re on your own with the pumpkin beer.

  2. Kim says:

    I’ll be finding out about the Michelob things this weekend – my impression is that I’d be much less offended by them were two conditions to hold true:
    #1) They weren’t labeled as and/or shelved anywhere near real beer
    #2) They weren’t artificially flavored (realizing, of course, that this last condition is just goofy given Michelob Ultra is already, in my mind at least, only artificially beer)

    I think I’ll like the pumpkin beer more, but that’s me. It’s interesting to know that these Michelob Ultra things may not be as horrid as I’m afraid of. Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

