Boulevard Bob’s 47 Oktoberfest

Given it’s September 10th, it is absolutely time to get on with the Oktoberfest reviews, don’t you think?

Basic Info:
Name:
 Bob’s 47 Oktoberfest
Origin: Boulevard Brewing Co., Kansas City, MO
Style: Vienna Lager/Oktoberfest
ABV: 5.8%
IBU: 27
I drank this: on tap at Jack Gage’s, Midtown Kansas City, MO 

Oktoberfests are one of those beers that I generally have a few of while it’s still sort of warm and while I’m waiting for it to cool off enough to justify copious quantities of brown ales.  Oktoberfests can be very good, but when they’re not well done, they can be watery, salty, strangely prune-like, etc.  In general, they’re not as malty as bocks or brown ales, but heavier than lighter lagers (and thus good for early Autumn).  A good mid-range lager style, as it were.

I’m often not a fan of Oktoberfests, so I was pleasantly surprised at how much I like this.  It has a really rounded malt character – not up to bock levels (which is good – it shouldn’t be) – but full, creamy and smooth.  There’s a slightly bitter bite of hops in the back, just enough to keep it from being sweet, but not enough to make me want to call it a hoppy or bitter beer.  It’s predominantly malt.  One reviewer on beeradvocate likened Bob’s 47 to Honey Nut Cheerios.  I have to say that I wish I’d come up with the comparison myself, because I think it’s apt.

There’s a malty, slightly sour aftertaste that lingers nicely, but doesn’t get in the way of food.  Food-wise, this beer is *begging* for bratwurst.  Nice, juicy bratwurst, dressed however you like it.

As far as I’m concerned, this is one of Boulevard’s best seasonals.  It’s everything an Oktoberfest is supposed to be – nice and malty, but not overpowering – without any of the drawbacks.  Count me happy and ready to order another one.

To sum up: if you’re in the Midwest, then I would like humbly to state that this should be your go-to Oktoberfest for this fall.  Good stuff.

About Kim

Kim spends a lot of time writing, thinking about writing, reading, writing more and dealing with writer's block. When she's not writing, she might be found having a beer. She often combines the writing experience with the beer experience. The combination tends to lead to more creativity but significantly impaired spelling.
This entry was posted in Beer Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Boulevard Bob’s 47 Oktoberfest

  1. jen says:

    I like Honey Nut Cheerios…hmmm? I’ve never tried an Oktoberfest.

  2. Kim says:

    You might really like it, Jen – it’s a style that’s definitely worth trying. The Boulevard really is one of the best I’ve had. I’m not as fond of the Sam Adams version – there’s something in the aftertaste that I’m not a fan of. That will probably be tomorrow’s review, so I’ll go more in depth then.

  3. HMS Hawkii says:

    I thought the Sam Adams Oktoberfest was oddly lacking in taste – as in, lacking almost completely in taste. Sad, because I generally like this one…

Leave a Reply

