Founders Black Biscuit

This is one of those beers that made me really excited when I got to have it.  Founders never lets me down.

Basic Info:
Name:
 Black Biscuit
Origin: Founder’s Brewing Company, Grand Rapids, MI
Style: Old Ale/Baltic Porter
ABV: 10.5%.  This beer is not messing around.
IBU: not given
I drank this: on tap at Flying Saucers, Kansas City, MO

This beer is as black as pitch with a thin layer of dense creamy foam.  It smells of chocolate and coffee and sweet, sweet alcohol. 

Given the really high ABV on this sucker, the alcohol note in the nose shouldn’t surprise me.  I have to say I was shocked by how high the alcohol level actually is in this beer – I was guessing high, but the alcohol flavor blends in so well with the others that I wouldn’t have thought it was over 8%.  Beers over 10% usually get overwhelmingly boozy.  The Black Biscuit wasn’t boozy-heavy.  It was just awesome.

In the world of flavor, this is a sweet, thick, honeyed milk chocolate malt flavor, with hints of dark bread and biscuits.  There’s a sweet alcohol burn in the aftertaste, the one moment when I should have been able to clue in how strong this beer is.  The aftertaste also has some hints of some kind of wood, maybe bourbon barrel or oak or something.  It’s complex, to say the least.

Founders has rapidly become one of my favorite breweries and has managed, thus far, not to disappoint me (the brewery motto should be “Founders: making life in Michigan more bearable with every beer).  This beer is no exception – thick, rich, dark, and complex.  Definitely a must-try.  And probably, given the almost-barleywine-level ABV, a must-have-only-one (per evening).  Good, good stuff.

About Kim

Kim spends a lot of time writing, thinking about writing, reading, writing more and dealing with writer's block. When she's not writing, she might be found having a beer. She often combines the writing experience with the beer experience. The combination tends to lead to more creativity but significantly impaired spelling.
This entry was posted in Beer Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Founders Black Biscuit

  1. Anne says:

    I don’t know if I’ve ever seen Founders anything around here, but now I am determined to look. This sounds like it’d be right up my beer alley.

  2. Kim says:

    You’re closer to the brewery than I am, so part of me assumes that Founders has to distribute by you. Then again, liquor laws are ridonk strange, so who knows. I hope you can find some! I haven’t seen this in bottles anywhere yet, but I haven’t been in a liquor store since I had this, so I haven’t actually had time to check.

Leave a Reply

