Odell Cutthroat Porter

Fun fact of the day: the name ‘Cutthroat’ Porter refers to the Colorado state fish, rather than any sort of murderous activity.

Basic Info:
Name: Cutthroat Porter
Origin: Odell Brewing Co., Fort Collins, Colorado
Style: Porter
ABV: 5.10%
IBU: 43
I drank this: on tap at Barleys, Overland Park, KS

Let’s hear it for truly kickass porters. I don’t think I’d ever had this beer before last night, because I’m pretty sure I’d have remembered it. I think this just became my new go-to porter.

It has a really lovely chocolate/coffee/nutty nose with a slight hop scent in the background and lots and lots of malts. It has about a half inch of foamy tan head floating over a dark, slightly cloudy beer. Since I had this while I was with Mom (among others), I actually have a pic of it:

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

(Yes, that’s me behind the beer, taking notes for this review. Besides showing you how lovely and dark this beer is, this picture illustrates why I’ve become a very boring person to go drinking with: each beer requires at least five minutes of nothing but me, my notebook, and my beverage. Then I get to go back to talking to people.)

So the beer is lovely. It has a medium body with quite a bit of carbonation, but more carbonation than average seems to be a hallmark of porters. In my world, the difference between a porter and a stout can be discerned in two ways: one is carbonation (the porter will have more) and two is hoppiness (again, the porter will have more).

Flavor-wise, this beer is all dark malts with hints of chocolate, coffee and oatmeal in the mouth with a sharp hop bite at the end – the hops are much more noticeable during the swallow than they are at any other time. The aftertaste is a strong mocha flavor, without any rough edges or bitterness. It’s quite lovely. Of all the porters I’ve had, this is a remarkably non-smoky version (much less smoky than the Boulevard Bully! Porter, for example), so if smoky tones aren’t your thing, the Cutthroat is a good beer to drink.

To sum up: this beer, I recommend it. Drink now and drink often.

As a side note, Odells makes an INDIA BARLEYWINE. Like a superhopped yet supersweet (at least, that’s what I’m expecting), thick and probably awesomesauce beer. I just found this out, and I MUST HAVE SOME. Preferably in December. I’ll go off and hit my favorite haunts to look for it, but if anyone sees it, lemme know. WANT.

About Kim

Kim spends a lot of time writing, thinking about writing, reading, writing more and dealing with writer's block. When she's not writing, she might be found having a beer. She often combines the writing experience with the beer experience. The combination tends to lead to more creativity but significantly impaired spelling.
This entry was posted in Beer Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

