Blanc Burgers + Bottles

Bar: Blanc Burgers + Bottles (I had originally typed this out as “and Bottles,” but it appears that they prefer the + sign instead. Whatever works.)
Locations: 105th and Mission (where I was tonight) *or* 4710 Jefferson (on the Plaza) in KC (I think the Plaza location was around first), and there’s soon to be Omaha and a Little Rock locations as well
Type: not so much a bar as a restaurant, but with a truly excellent bottle collection
Website: http://www.blancburgers.com/

First of all, the burgers are top friggin’ notch and they do awesomely fun things like make their own catsup. And the curried lentil burger I had along with my truffle oil-covered french fries had me ready to cry it was so awesome. But unleashing my inner foodie isn’t what I do on this blog – I know you’re here for the beer.

The beer list at Blanc Burger includes everything from a smoked Märzen (the Aecht Schlenkerla Rauchbier Märzen) to a Nøgne Ø Imperial Stout to a Kasteel Donker and beyond. There are some seriously esoteric beers on this list – I could happily drink at this place for a solid two weeks and still be trying things I’d never had before.

So with all of this wonderfulness, what beer did I have?

I didn’t. I had a milkshake.

Specifically, a chocolate milkshake.

Really specifically, I had a milkshake because the milkshake caught my attention and held it longer than any of the beers. What accomplished this stupendous feat? Simple: the milkshake was made with Shatto Milk Company milk (warning: clicking on the link will cause your computer to moo at you at high volume) and Foo’s Fabulous Frozen Custard (which is out of Brookside and truly deserving of its eponymous adjective). This is gold medal milkshake, people. This is the milkshake of the gods.

When I said earlier that I wasn’t going to unleash my inner foodie on y’all, I was lying. This milkshake is INSANE. It has a glorious bittersweet chocolate flavor and an incredibly thick, rich texture that left an amazing milkshake cream coating in my mouth. I’ve never had a milkshake do that before. It was like my mouth had been coated in velvet. THIS IS GOOD. It’s so good, honestly, that I feel like I may have been ruined for all other milkshakes. And I don’t even care. It’s *that* good. It’s thick enough that it comes out having almost the same texture as Foo’s custard, meaning that it can *easily* stand up both a straw and a spoon without any reference to the side of the container, and melts into this incrediyummy silky lake of chocolate.

Your Best Milkshake Ever (my name, not theirs) will come served to you in a metal container with the burger/fries/salad/whatever else you want of your choice. And I do recommend the lentil burger – lots of french lentils (french lentils are the tiny dark green ones that don’t lose their shape when cooked the way brown lentils can and red lentils invariably do) and veggies mashed together into a patty and fried, a minty yogurt/cucumber/onion sauce, avocado and sprouts on a Boulevard beer bun and really lovely with a Best Milkshake Ever.

Enjoy!

About Kim

Kim spends a lot of time writing, thinking about writing, reading, writing more and dealing with writer's block. When she's not writing, she might be found having a beer. She often combines the writing experience with the beer experience. The combination tends to lead to more creativity but significantly impaired spelling.
This entry was posted in Better Know a Bar. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

