Warsteiner Oktoberfest

Remember how I thought I was done with Oktoberfests until 2011? I was wrong. I have two more, the Warsteiner and the Schlafly. We’ll start with the Warsteiner today:

Basic Info:
Name:
 Oktoberfest
Origin: Warsteiner Brauerei
Style: Märzen/Oktoberfest
ABV: 5.9%
IBU: not listed
I drank this: on tap at Old Chicago, Olathe

Compared to a lot of the Oktoberfests I’ve had this year, the Warsteiner is one of the lightest. It’s still an amber, but a lighter amber, with light carbonation and a rim of foam that hangs out around the edge of the glass.

Like most other Oktoberfests, this falls into the “smells like beer” category – not too hoppy, not too malty, just a mid-range beer. And, well, it tastes like an Oktoberfest. It’s medium malt flavors with overtones of biscuits and breads, light hop overtones that don’t so much demand attention as add a slight sharpness to the mouthfeel, and a slight “lager” taste coming from the type of yeasts used and the brewing method.

Basically, this beer is your standard Oktoberfest. I wouldn’t even really consider it worthy of reviewing as I’ve already done so very many Oktoberfests recently, but it differs from the others in one specific way: it has pretty much no aftertaste. Nothing too sour, nothing off and bitter, nothing bad at all. Given most of my Oktoberfest-aftertaste experiences have been bad dba abd BAD, this is a firm plus. It’s also a compulsively drinkable beer. There aren’t any drawbacks to it that I can find (other than that I’m sick to death of Oktoberfests right now!)*. It’s just good beer.

For my money, this was the second best beer on the Old Chicago Oktoberfest minitour (behind the Paulaner) – if you’re sitting at OC anytime soon and want an German-made Oktoberfest but don’t know which one, I’d throw my support firmly behind this one. Enjoy!

* The awesome thing about doing this via blog is that I can admit that my review may not sound as positive as I think it should because I’m sick to death of the style of beer. Because the Warsteiner was one of my favorites from this year’s Oktoberfests (whatever beeradvocate might say – they gave it a C+). But really, people, I think if I see another Oktoberfest before mid-September 2011, I’m going to “accidentally” spill the beer so that I can have anything else.

About Kim

Kim spends a lot of time writing, thinking about writing, reading, writing more and dealing with writer's block. When she's not writing, she might be found having a beer. She often combines the writing experience with the beer experience. The combination tends to lead to more creativity but significantly impaired spelling.
This entry was posted in Beer Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Warsteiner Oktoberfest

  1. Anne says:

    The no-aftertaste thing is what I liked about Rogue’s Maierfest. I won’t recommend it since you’re off the Ok-fests, but it was definitely my favorite of the ones I tried this year.

Leave a Reply

