Boulevard Amber Ale

This is one of Boulevard’s newer beers – the first reviews for it come at the end of May, and I think it became widely available along about July or so. I’ve only recently started running into it. It’s a flagship/year-round beer, so it won’t be hard to find.

Basic Info:
Name:
Amber Ale
Origin: Boulevard Brewing Co., Kansas City, MO
Style: Amber Ale
ABV: 5.10%
IBU: 24
I drank this: in a bottle at the K.C. Royal BBQ competition with a bunch of Romans (you wish you were there, I promise) and the next night on tap at Swagger, Kansas City, MO

I’ll be reviewing the tap version of this from having it at Swagger, since my main thoughts from having a bottle of it at the American Royal were along the lines of “YAY BEER” and “WHEEE BARBECUE,” which are not exactly conducive to productive or helpful commentary.*

So the Boulevard Amber. It’s a slightly cloudy, warm amber color with about a finger of white foamy head that dissipates quickly. It didn’t have a particularly strong aroma – there was a bit of malt and a touch of sort of grassy hop. That was about it.

Flavor-wise, it was sharp (like ambers tend to be), slightly citrus-y and slightly grassy from the hops (the Boulevard Amber uses German hops – Hallertaus and the like – which always taste grassy to me), and slightly malty – light bready and caramel malts. It’s well-balanced, so that the hops don’t overpower the malts and the malts don’t get too sweet. The malts get slightly sweeter as the beer warms up (which works for me). The aftertaste is mostly pale malts, kind of biscuity.

The only problem I ran into with the Boulevard Amber was that it developed a slightly metallic taste after I’d been drinking it for a while. I’ll have to have another one soon to see if it was just the particular keg I had beer from or if this is a feature of the beer. If I discover that it was just the keg I had, I’ll come back and edit accordingly. I also think that hops “read” as metallic to some people (I’m not usually one of them), so it may just be that.

All in all, this was a pretty good amber. Ambers don’t blow me away in general and aren’t something I usually crave, so I wasn’t expecting to be blown away with this beer (and I’m not, to be honest, but it’s still pretty good). However, if you want a solid medium-to-lightish beer, this is one to try. It’s a good pizza beer – something that’s not too strong and not too heavy that won’t overpower the pizza, but won’t completely disappear either.

*I won’t be reviewing the also-consumed-that-night Young’s Double Chocolate Stout or the Strongbow or the half-cup of 75th Street Good Hope IPA given to me by a beer judge the next tent over. My thoughts were nowhere near coherent enough (see “WHEEE BARBECUE” as an example), but I did have an insane amount of fun.

About Kim

Kim spends a lot of time writing, thinking about writing, reading, writing more and dealing with writer's block. When she's not writing, she might be found having a beer. She often combines the writing experience with the beer experience. The combination tends to lead to more creativity but significantly impaired spelling.
This entry was posted in Beer Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

