He’Brew Messiah Bold

I love He’Brew beers. They’re good beers and given some of the most gloriously groan-worthy names out there: their doppelbock is the Rejewvenator, the anniversary ale is the Jewbilation, and so on. Their names have made me snortlaugh in the aisles of liquor stores because I am a pun-loving dork.

Basic Info:
Name:
 Messiah Bold
Origin: Shmaltz Brewing Company, New York, New York and San Francisco, California
Style: Brown Ale
ABV: 5.6%
IBU: not listed
I drank this: from a bottle at Old Chicago, Olathe

This came in bottle form, which in this case I approve of because it gave me a moment to giggle at the label. Labels on He’Brew beers are as worth reading as are labels on Stone beers – completely entertaining, the type of label that makes me wonder what I have to do to write ad copy for them.

Anyway, when poured into a glass (I always pour into glasses when I’ve got a bottled beer, unless I’m outside at a BBQ or something and glasses aren’t available), this beer is a nicely dark brown – dark, but not porter-dark either. It smells of dark malts and something kind of nutty (generic “nut smell” – I don’t have almonds or walnuts or pecans listed specifically). It’s pleasant and warming.

The Messiah Bold has a fairly high level of carbonation. Even pouring carefully, when I poured it into the glass it did the Coke thing, wherein it fizzed up with a bubbly head which almost immediately dissipated into nonexistence. It’s not quite as dark as a Coke, but there’s a pretty strong resemblance.

This beer is a glassful of really lovely warm, dark, toasty malts, with hints of nut running throughout. It’s a sharp ale for a brown, with enough hops that it feels slightly sharp on the tongue. Note: as with most darker ales, this doesn’t mean that this beer is hoppy at all. It’s not. It’s just that the hops keep the beer from going sweet, add something to the mouthfeel, and work to highlight how awesome the malts are. The aftertaste is buttered toast. Buttered dark wheat toast, to be specific. The aftertaste never goes sour or overly salty or anything else, so bonus points there. This is just all-around good brown ale.

Fun fact of the day: Shmaltz Brewing Co., the brewers who create the He’Brew line, also brew the Coney Island line of beers (the Freaktober, etc).

About Kim

Kim spends a lot of time writing, thinking about writing, reading, writing more and dealing with writer's block. When she's not writing, she might be found having a beer. She often combines the writing experience with the beer experience. The combination tends to lead to more creativity but significantly impaired spelling.
This entry was posted in Beer Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to He’Brew Messiah Bold

  1. OMG I buy He/Brews for my husband whenever i can find them. he is so bummed cause about 4 years ago he wanted to make a jewish beer and was sad to find out it had already been done

  2. bowmansinbavaria says:

    I have to try He/Brews beer when I’m back Stateside; how great is it that they are the Schmaltz brewing company?

    I found this article about the decline of Beer Mats here in Germany:
    http://www.spiegel.de/international/zeitgeist/0,1518,620780,00.html – but I haven’t noticed an actual decline, so I guess the other companies who make beer mats must be doing well! But the article made me think of you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

