Blue Moon Harvest Moon

Regular Blue Moon is awesome, one of those beers that is compulsively drinkable during the Summer months, nice and cold and with an orange squeezed in. I’d never tried any of the seasonal moons, so we’re dealing with a first for me.

Basic Info:
Name: 
Harvest Moon Pumpkin Ale
Origin: Coors Brewing (Blue Moon division)
Style: Pumpkin Ale
ABV: 5.7%
IBU: not listed
I drank this: poured from a bottle at Old Chicago, Overland Park

This beer is pretty. It’s a soft pumpkin-y orange color. I didn’t get much of a scent off of it.

“Pretty” is about where my admiration stops. This wasn’t the worst pumpkin I’ve ever had, but it’s emphatically not a favorite, especially when there are some really good ones running around. It tastes like someone dumped some pumpkin into an Oktoberfest mixed with a bit of Blue Moon.

To elaborate, here’s what happens during a sip: it starts off with some pumpkin pie spices right at the beginning of the sip, which is pleasant. Then there’s a distinct hit of raw pumpkin – it tastes like the way cutting into a pumpkin smells, rather than the way pumpkin tastes when it’s been roasted or something. This is followed by some kind of sharp, funky, off taste, like they chose a wonky malt at random and threw it in the mash.

The aftertaste is slightly sour and slightly pumpkin spicy and overall not hideous, but not something I’m clamoring to experience again any time soon.

Overall rating: meh. I find myself wishing I had had a camera with me last Friday while we were drinking it, because my brother’s look of bemused dismay sums it up. I mean, it’s a pumpkin ale. It would have been fine but for Schlafly and O’Fallon, who have made fabulous pumpkins this year. And I still have the Hoppin’ Frog Double Pumpkin to grab, and a bottle of Southern Tier Pumking in the basement waiting for Halloween.

About Kim

Kim spends a lot of time writing, thinking about writing, reading, writing more and dealing with writer's block. When she's not writing, she might be found having a beer. She often combines the writing experience with the beer experience. The combination tends to lead to more creativity but significantly impaired spelling.
This entry was posted in Beer Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blue Moon Harvest Moon

  1. Amy says:

    I tried the Hopping Frog a few weeks ago and liked it so much that I bought an extra bottle upon creating my blog. You know, to make sure that it wasn’t just the ABV.

Leave a Reply

