Sierra Nevada Southern Hemisphere Harvest Fresh Hop Ale

From the “fun beers that I have stashed away in the basement, waiting for a good occasion” files:

Basic Info:
Name: 
Southern Hemisphere Harvest Fresh Hop Ale (2009 Harvest)
Origin: Sierra Nevada Brewing Co., Chico, California
Style: American IPA
ABV: 6.7%
IBU: not available for 2009 (2010 is 66)
I drank this: poured from a bottle at home. Bottle purchased at a liquor store outside of Chicago last summer

I have been holding onto this beer for something like 16 months. I was really excited to pop it open and enjoy, and was not disappointed. And to Tony, Dad and Ben: you must know how much I like you, since I let you have some. My initial tendency was to hoard this all to myownself. But I didn’t. Consider yourselves loved.

This beer is a slightly cloudy medium amber/orange color with a light, thin head – it resembles many of the pumpkin ales I’ve been drinking lately. The scent is light, bright and citrusy, all orange blossom/neroli-hoppiness with a hint of sweet running through it. I want a perfume of this beer badly. (Dear BPAL, please get on that KTHX)

Taste-wise, we’ll start with the malts. They’re actually noticeable, which is nice. They’re medium-to-light and slightly caramelly-spicy, slightly sweet. They create a nice, slightly syrupy backdrop for the hops.

The hops are the star, obviously. However, the IBUs on this beer can’t be all that high – I’d guess in the 60-70 range (which is probably about right – the 2010 version came in at 66). To translate for non-beer-geeks, this means that the hops are the dominant flavor, but they’re not going to facepunch you with bitterness the way some of the higher-IBU beers would. In the tastebuds of my mouth*, this beer doesn’t taste bitter at all – it’s clean, bright, sunny, citrus-y and tinged with something lightly floral.

To be nonsensically poetic about it, this beer is like drinking sunny springtime.

To be beyond nerdy about it: I’d love to think that this is the beer the hobbits drink in the Lord of the Rings films. Obviously it wouldn’t be so in the books: in the books, the hobbits are probably drinking an Old Ale or something comparable. I like to think of them drinking Wychwood’s Hobgoblin.

Fun note: the hops for this beer came freshly picked from New Zealand, home of my favorite Sauvignon Blancs and Flight of the Conchords. Moral of the story: good things come from the land of the Kiwis. *thumbs up*

*keep in mind that my favorite liqueur is Campari, that I will choose dark chocolate over milk at all times, etc. What I’m saying is that I like bitter things.

About Kim

Kim spends a lot of time writing, thinking about writing, reading, writing more and dealing with writer's block. When she's not writing, she might be found having a beer. She often combines the writing experience with the beer experience. The combination tends to lead to more creativity but significantly impaired spelling.
This entry was posted in Beer Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

