Lagunitas Wilco Tango Foxtrot (WTF) Ale

See, I was going to write a review of a kickass pumpkin ale today, something like the Southern Tier Pumking or the Hoppin’ Frog Frog’s Hallow Double Pumpkin Ale. However, I managed to forget the Southern Tier last night because it was in the basement and I was rushing to throw my costume on when I got home from work, and realized at the party when three beers in (a Schlafly APA, a Rogue Dead Guy, and the upcoming review) that busting out an 8+% ABV pumpkin ale would probably not be a decision I would still be happy with in the morning. In the quest for hangover avoidance, I left it capped and will review it when I do pop it open. Maybe as dessert on Thanksgiving.

In lieu of pumpkin ale, I present to you a fabulous beer, one which is conceptually timely because of Election Day’s rapid approach.

Basic Info:
Name: 
Wilco Tango Foxtrot (WTF) Ale
Origin: Lagunitas Brewing Company
Style: Imperial Brown Ale / American Strong Ale
ABV: 7.83%
IBU: not listed
I drank this: poured from a bottle at a Halloween party, early-ish in the evening

The WTF Ale: “A Malty, Robust, Jobless Recovery Ale,” described to me once as being a “half-red, half-black” ale.

This beer is malty. All over super malty. I don’t know what color it is, because it was poured from the brown bottle into a red polo cup, so I never really did see the color of the beer. Therefore, I’ve decided it’s malt-colored. I can say that it has amazing head retention – the head was thick and foamy, the kind of foam that makes little peaks and valleys as it slowly collapses.

So. Malts. There were some grapefruity hops right in the background, but. This was a thick, bready beer, like black bread and caramel and molasses and biscuits and foam, did I mention there was a lot of foamy head? and nuts. It’s toasty and warming and strong. And malty. I hear people talk of beers as being hop bombs sometimes – this beer is a malt bomb.

There’s a nice, mid-level carbonation running through this that helps camouflage the alcohol. I didn’t notice any alcohol flavor at all, and that’s rare for me in beers this malty.

Aftertaste-wise, it was pretty bready. It pairs really well with oatmeal chocolate chip cookies, especially oatmeal chocolate chip cookies that are freshly baked from scratch and still have slightly melty chocolate chips.

Enjoy on a Fall day, or (apparently) on a Spring day – this beer is actually their Spring Seasonal. Imperial Brown Ale strikes me as a strange choice for a Spring Seasonal, but I never really know what to drink in the Spring, so their guess is as good as mine.

About Kim

Kim spends a lot of time writing, thinking about writing, reading, writing more and dealing with writer's block. When she's not writing, she might be found having a beer. She often combines the writing experience with the beer experience. The combination tends to lead to more creativity but significantly impaired spelling.
This entry was posted in Beer Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lagunitas Wilco Tango Foxtrot (WTF) Ale

  1. HMSHawkii says:

    WTF? Now I want *this* beer AND hot, melty oatmeal chocolate chip cookies… after a bowl of chili with Fritos during a snowstorm.

Leave a Reply

