Odell IPA

This beer is a favorite IPA of quite a few people I’ve talked to. It’s not my personal favorite, but it’s certainly a good one, and one that’s very easy to drink.

Basic Info:
Name:
IPA
Origin: Odell Brewing Co., Fort Collins, Colorado
Style: American IPA
ABV: 7.0%
IBU: 60
I drank this: on tap at Barley’s, Overland Park, KS

This is a cloudy amber-colored beer with zero head and a lovely piney-citrus herbal scent. It’s very low carbonation and smoother than a lot of IPAs out there, making this a particularly easy IPA to drink in nice long quenching gulps of happy hop juice.

The Odell IPA is all about the hop flavor (well, obviously, I suppose), to the exclusion of any kind of remarkable malt profile. The hops here provide a ton of strongly piney/herbal flavor, but don’t have any sharpness or bite on the tongue. This really is one of the smoothest beers I’ve ever encountered with an IBU level this high- there’s usually something sharp, something that serves as a reminder that there are a ton of hops around to mess with one’s palate. There’s nothing at all like that here, so the fact that this beer can screw with your ability to taste things isn’t as easy to notice (until you taste something else and think “wait, why do my french fries taste like pears?”).

Malt-wise, there must be some here somewhere, else there’d be no sugar for the yeast to ferment to create anything recognizeable as beer, but I CANNOT taste any malts here to save my life until I get to the aftertaste. Based on the aftertaste, I’m going to say that the malts are mostly pretty light – the malty aftertaste I got was sour white bread, coupled with some grassy notes from the hops. The aftertaste was a bit odd to me. It fit the beer pretty well, but I’m not entirely sure what to do with it.

So all in all, this isn’t my favorite IPA, but I can understand why it would be a favorite for a lot of people. It’s super-easy to drink. If you like hop flavor without having the hops chew your tongue half off in return for sharing their glory with you, then this is definitely the IPA to go to.

About Kim

Kim spends a lot of time writing, thinking about writing, reading, writing more and dealing with writer's block. When she's not writing, she might be found having a beer. She often combines the writing experience with the beer experience. The combination tends to lead to more creativity but significantly impaired spelling.
This entry was posted in Beer Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Odell IPA

  1. Yurko says:

    I haven’t had O’Dell’s in a while, but their IPA is my favorite of their non-special releases. I absolutely love the herbal/grassy hop character, as I’m not into the uber-citrus cascade attack you get from most American IPAs.

  2. Kim says:

    That’s probably where the difference is between myself and the Odells lovers – super-citrus cascade-heavy IPAs are my favorites by far. The herbal/grassy hops in Odells are a nice change up, though.

Leave a Reply

