Founders Breakfast Stout

People, this beer is one of the all-time greats. Founders has become one of my favorite breweries over the last year or so, and this stout is a major reason why. It’s flawless. Just. Flawless.

Basic Info:
Name: 
Breakfast Stout
Origin: Founders Brewing Company
Style: American Imperial Stout
ABV: 8.3%
IBU: not listed
I drank this: on tap at Waldo Pizza, Kansas City. If you live in the area and haven’t trucked on over there yet, GO. Good pizza, flipping phenomenal tap list with lots and lots of fun beers.

Q: So what makes Founders call this a Breakfast Stout, as though the concept of beer for breakfast could be a good idea even on days when one isn’t out tailgating?
A: It’s a coffee chocolate oatmeal stout. Like it’s the beer equivalent of a bowl of oatmeal and a mocha. But even better.

This beer is thick. Not like motor oil, Dark Truth/Old Rasputin-thick. But thick enough to warrant the description. It’s slightly foamy and creamy. It’s pitch ebony jet black with a mocha-colored head. PRETTY. It smells like coffee grounds – specifically, it’s that awesomesauce amazing smell that comes when you walk into a coffee specialty shop – warm and coffee-like and amazing and slightly sweet and all that good stuff. There’s a slight hint of chocolate in the background as well.

To really love this beer, you *really* need to like coffee. I do, so I’m good. The first taste is very strongly of espresso, followed immediately by a sweeter, thicker, more mocha-like coffee-chocolate flavor, followed by something that is best described as chocolate-oatmeal, followed by mocha. The aftertaste is pure mocha, like a mocha that’s been made with an extremely bittersweet, rich chocolate. Like the best mocha I’ve ever had.

It’s a warming beer as well, due to the alcohol content. I don’t notice the alcohol at all until after I’ve swallowed it – then I can feel it warming me up all the way through my digestive track. It’s a comforting happy feeling.

People, this beer. It’s amazing. Haul yourselves out and have some.

Note: if you are someone who has issues with being kept awake at night by caffeine, you may want to consider not drinking this stout past a certain time of day (whatever works for you). The coffee in this stout helped keep me up past 3am last night, a good solid hour/hour and a half later than my usual pass out time.

About Kim

Kim spends a lot of time writing, thinking about writing, reading, writing more and dealing with writer's block. When she's not writing, she might be found having a beer. She often combines the writing experience with the beer experience. The combination tends to lead to more creativity but significantly impaired spelling.
This entry was posted in Beer Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Founders Breakfast Stout

  1. Sarah says:

    Seems like everything that Founders makes tastes like coffee and chocolate. Ok, so I know that that statment is probably all kinds of not true, but I just had the Porter recently, and thats what I tasted like to me. And both of the founders beers you have reviewed have had that in the description. So logic indicates that my conclusion is true. If A and B and C is true then D is true. A and B and C are true. Therefore, everything that Founders makes is going to taste like coffee and chocolate. I am going to be very upset with my critial thinking teacher who told me that if I used formal logic then everything would be ok.

  2. Sarah says:

    if this proves to be untrue at some futre date. (I hit submit too early.)

  3. Kim says:

    I haven’t been able to get my hands on a Founders Backwoods Bastard for reviewing purposes, but it most assuredly doesn’t taste of chocolate and coffee. It would make sense that their porter does – I haven’t been able to try it yet, but want to. (Stupid having to go to Missouri to get anything from them!)

    I can say that so far, all of their beers have been awesome.

Leave a Reply

