Schlafly Coffee Stout

Yay for caffeine and alcohol combinations that aren’t chemical-filled and possibly lethal 😀

Basic Info:
Name:
Coffee Stout
Origin: St. Louis Brewery/Schlafly Tap Room
Style: Oatmeal Stout
ABV: 5.7%
IBU: 40
Calories (because the website lists it, so I may as well pass it on): 195 for a 12 oz bottle
I drank this: on tap at Old Chicago, Overland Park

People, the coffee in this beer does in fact work. Consider that fair warning not to drink it too late at night if caffeine affects you strongly – it will keep you up. If, on the other hand, you’re like my husband and can drink coffee until bedtime without a moment of lost sleep, have at it. Also, I kind of hate you.

The Schlafly Coffee Stout pours with a tan head and a dark, but not quite black, color. It’s pretty much the color you’d get if you poured black coffee into a pint glass – dark, brown, almost-black-but-not-quite. It has a glorious coffee scent, the sort of scent you can find if you walk by freshly ground coffee. Lovely.

Drinking it, the coffee isn’t quite as apparent as it is in the scent. It’s definitely there, but it’s sharing the spotlight. The first thing I noticed when I took a sip was actually a hop presence – a sort of bite on the tongue and a hint of grassy pine. After that, I noticed the fizz of the CO2, then some very toasty malts, and *then* the coffee. It’s there, but it takes a moment to show up.

The aftertaste, however, is pretty much all coffee with a hint of malt – I noticed the coffee much more after I’d swallowed. It’s a great aftertaste, one that I was fine having stick around for a while.

The thing that surprised me here is that I didn’t notice any chocolate flavor. I’ve had this now both bottled and on tap and the lack of chocolate notes has been consistent. This is an interesting for a coffee stout – chocolate is almost a guaranteed presence. So kudos to Schlafly for trying something different.

I have two (minor) complaints about this beer: 1) it’s much lighter-bodied than I’m used to in a stout, and I found myself missing the rich heaviness a little and 2) the head dissipates quickly. It’s a stout – head is usually a major stout component.

Overall, I did enjoy this beer and would happily order it again. OTOH, if I make it over to the Missouri side of the state line, I’ll be going for a Founders Breakfast Stout or a Bells Java Stout before I’d hit the Schlafly again. It’s good, but there are a few better versions around.

About Kim

Kim spends a lot of time writing, thinking about writing, reading, writing more and dealing with writer's block. When she's not writing, she might be found having a beer. She often combines the writing experience with the beer experience. The combination tends to lead to more creativity but significantly impaired spelling.
This entry was posted in Beer Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

