Sam Adams Holiday Porter

One of the beers in the Sam Adams Winter Classics variety pack. I’m pretty sure the variety pack is about the only way you can get ahold of this.

Basic Info:
Name:
Holiday Porter
Origin: Boston Beer Company/Sam Adams, Boston, MA
Style: American Porter
ABV: 5.9%
IBU: not given
Calories: 212 per 12 oz bottle
I drank this: poured from the bottle at home

So we know I have my run-ins with Sam Adams, and that thus far I haven’t been particularly complimentary toward their beers. The Holiday Porter is a nice change from all that – I liked it quite a bit.

The Holiday Porter pours a nice chocolate color with a cream-colored head that left lacing all the way down the glass. It’s filled with a lovely milk chocolate/caramel scent, with a hint of hops in the background.

Flavor-wise, it begins with a heavy hint of chocolate. The chocolate gets backed up by roasted malts, caramel and just overall “sweet”. It’s a really nice malt profile. Then the hops kick in. They’re a little too strong for the style, I think, but they’re not overpowering – they’re bright and piney. They sort of layer over the chocolate backdrop.

For a porter, this is fairly light-bodied – it won’t leave you full or overwhelmed. The mouthfeel tends toward the hoppy-dry side rather than the full and creamy side.

As far as porters go, I’d rank this above Boulevard’s Bully!* Porter, but not up to Fuller’s London Porter (the creamy mouthfeel in the Fuller’s version will kill me happily dead every time).

*I still hate this exclamation point.
End note: Sorry if I’m lacking in my usual eloquence at the moment – I’ve got a cold and it’s not helping my ability to think clearly.

About Kim

Kim spends a lot of time writing, thinking about writing, reading, writing more and dealing with writer's block. When she's not writing, she might be found having a beer. She often combines the writing experience with the beer experience. The combination tends to lead to more creativity but significantly impaired spelling.
This entry was posted in Beer Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

