Crispin Lansdowne Cider

More from the “things what can be done with cider when the brewers are feeling adventurous” front:

Basic Info:
Name:
Lansdowne
Origin: Crispin Cider
Style: Cider
ABV: 6.9%
IBU: none whatsoever, yo. No one wants bitter cider – not even me.
I drank this: poured from the bottle, provided to me by Derek Bean of Crispin Ciders (thank you!)

This particular version is cider brewed with molasses and Irish Stout Yeast. I think they may have been going for something along the lines of a snakebite? I’m not sure. It’s interesting, though, I’ll give you that.

Freshly poured, it smells like yeast and apples and a bit of molasses, the last of which put me strongly in mind of gingerbread (which sounds awesome right now and would probably be really good with this cider – or any cider – but this is all irrelevant tangent time)(I will get back on subject now, promise). The cider is a medium brown color and cloudy from the yeast.

This is one of those moments where you really, *really* want to get the yeast all mixed up in with the rest of the cider before you pour it. I tried a few sips after carefully decanting the cider to keep the yeast out and was overwhelmed by molasses. Then I swirled the yeast in the bottle and poured it into my glass, and it was measurably yummier with the yeast – like it all suddenly translated into a liquid that made more sense or something like that. So when the bottle instructions tell you to make sure the yeast is in there, follow directions (besides, all the extra vitamins the yeast provides are good for you). The yeast also makes the carbonation lovely. Really. Lovely. Like I’d love to come up with a punchier word to use there, but “lovely” is what came to mind, stuck, and refused to let any other word in. It’s lovely.

Flavor-wise, at first I got yeast on the tip of my tongue, a strong hit of molasses everywhere, and then apples in the back of my mouth and on the swallow. The molasses flavor was stronger than I was thinking it would be, and the yeast wasn’t as overpowering as it was in the Saint. At first I wasn’t a big fan – the flavors seemed too disjointed, like a batch of sauce that needs another four hours of simmering before the flavors meld into something really fantastic. I think it just took my tastebuds some time to figure out what was going on – the cider was better about halfway through. Heavy molasses with apples, brought together by the yeast. Good, especially if you like gingerbread molasses.

Basically, it’s good and it’s really different, but there’s a part of me that wants all these flavors in baked goods rather than liquid form. But I want some to bake with, because this could make EPIC GINGERBREAD CAKE.

ETA: Shaya of Stick a Spoon In It uses Crispin Lansdowne in an awesome-sounding beef stew recipe – check out the link and try the recipe!

About Kim

Kim spends a lot of time writing, thinking about writing, reading, writing more and dealing with writer's block. When she's not writing, she might be found having a beer. She often combines the writing experience with the beer experience. The combination tends to lead to more creativity but significantly impaired spelling.
This entry was posted in Beer Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Crispin Lansdowne Cider

  1. Shaya says:

    This is a great review, I’ve had plenty of Lansdowne in the last few months and I think you’ve hit it right on the mark. Wanted to let you know I’ve linked to this post for a recipe post of my own, a beef stew made using this cider.

    Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

