Santa’s Butt

This Christmas Eve, allow me to present to you my review of Santa’s Butt.

It’s a Porter. Get your mind out of the gutter. That’s gross.

Basic Info:
Name:
 Santa’s Butt
Origin: Ridgeway Brewing, Oxfordshire, UK
Style: English Porter
ABV: 6.0%
IBU: not very high
I drank this: poured from a bottle after work on Christmas Eve

Santa’s Butt is one of those beers that, like pretty much everyone else on the planet, I bought because of the name.* Unlike at least a few of those people, I’ve actually drank it rather than let it hang out endlessly among the Christmas decorations.

I would also like to point out that this beer is ample demonstration of the fact that the beer crowd is neither so stuffy nor so mature as the wine crowd tends to come across as being (i.e., I’m convinced much of the beer crowd is made up of overgrown 12-year-old boys).

This beer is dark brown and translucent enough that light shows through auburn when the glass is held up to the light. It smells like – well, it smells like dark beer. Kind of in the same way that an Oktoberfest smells like beer, but with a slighter darker malt profile.

Flavor-wise, this may sound like a cop-out, but it tastes like dark beer. It’s not particularly nuanced – I don’t find lots of embedded coffee or toffee or chocolate or smoke notes the way I do in really good porters – but it does its job. This is darker malts with a slight fruity touch and a nice, if subtle, hop bite on the tongue. There’s no real bitterness here otherwise.

I’d say I was whelmed. I wasn’t overwhelmed – this isn’t spectacular beer – but I wasn’t underwhelmed either. It isn’t bad. It’s supremely easy to drink in that sort of “gulp after a long day” type way.

Maybe Santa would like one after he gets off work. I hear he has a long night tonight.

* The really amusing thing with this all is that Maine freaked out and barred the beer from sale in 2006 out of fear that children might buy the beer. They reversed stance after the ACLU got involved and allowed sales to recommence in January 2007. I bet the liquor store owners were pissed.

About Kim

Kim spends a lot of time writing, thinking about writing, reading, writing more and dealing with writer's block. When she's not writing, she might be found having a beer. She often combines the writing experience with the beer experience. The combination tends to lead to more creativity but significantly impaired spelling.
This entry was posted in Beer Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

