Carolina Nut Brown Ale

Out of the “this was sort of okay, but since I was in NC at the time I’m kicking myself that I didn’t dive for the Duck-Rabbit* when I could get my grubby hands on some” file:

Basic Info:
Name:
Nut Brown Ale
Origin: Carolina Brewing Co., Holly Springs, NC
Style: English Brown Ale
ABV: 4.7%
IBU: not listed
I drank this: chez my sister- and brother-in-law’s lovely NC abode

 The Carolina Nut Brown Ale is a fairly clear, auburn-copper-brownish red ale with a thin layer of off-white head swirling around the top. It’s light-bodied with a syrupy but still thin mouthfeel and an aroma of nutty malts.

Flavor-wise, it’s malts and nuts. Specifically, it’s caramelly malts with a sort of nutty flavor that runs towards the peanut edge of the multifaceted nut-flavor spectrum. There are a few hints of chocolate and toffee as well, and a bit of hoppy bite on the tongue. The hop-bite fades quickly, however – it was really strong when I first poured the beer, but pretty much nonexistent within about ten minutes. At that point, it turned to all caramel syrup nutty malts.

The aftertaste is peanuts, butter (*not* peanut butter) and a hint of chocolate and caramel. It sounds like it should be absolutely amazing, like some kind of souped up turtle candy or something, but it’s not really that awesome.

Here’s the thing. There are a lot of hints of good things in this beer, but they’re all just, well, hints. It *could* be a good beer, but it tastes really watered down. Given I think they’ve got the balance right, I don’t want to write off the brewery yet. However, this isn’t anything I’d want to drink again any time soon.

Last: given this is an English Brown Ale, it’s pretty clear they’re going for Newcastle. At the moment, I’d say skip this and go straight to Newcastle, which is a tried-and-true standby.

*I mean honestly, the 6-pack right next to the one I grabbed was a Duck-Rabbit Milk Stout. That has potential to be AWESOME.

About Kim

Kim spends a lot of time writing, thinking about writing, reading, writing more and dealing with writer's block. When she's not writing, she might be found having a beer. She often combines the writing experience with the beer experience. The combination tends to lead to more creativity but significantly impaired spelling.
This entry was posted in Beer Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Carolina Nut Brown Ale

  1. Mike says:

    The Duck-Rabbit Milk Stout is pretty darn good. The Natty Green’s beers are local to Greensboro, NC, and you shouldn’t miss those if you’re in NC either.

    • Kim says:

      I’m in Kansas City most of the time, but I will definitely check out the Natty Greens beers the next time I’m out visiting that direction!

Leave a Reply

