Lagunitas A Little Sumpin’ Sumpin’ Ale

Happy January 2nd! I hope this post finds you cleared of any and all hangovers you may have been nursing on the first of the year.

Basic Info:
Name:
A Little Sumpin’ Sumpin’ Ale
Origin: Lagunitas Brewing Co., California
Style: American Pale Wheat Ale
ABV: 7.5%
IBU: 64.20*
I drank this: poured from a bottle at home sometime after Midnight on New Year’s Day, having decided around 11:30pm on New Year’s Eve when I finally arrived at the party that drinking the Stone Double Bastard I had originally intended to imbibe was likely to turn into the sort of hangover I wasn’t going to be happy about when I had to go to work the next day, and thus decided to go with a beer of the decidedly less-high-octane variety. That the decided-upon beer is 7.5% ABV should give you some idea of what lies in store when I do finally pop open my bottle of Double Bastard.

So. This beer is a lovely bright golden yellow color – almost the color of a sunflower petal – with a bright foamy white head. It has a gloriously bright grapefruit scent with a hint of sweetness running underneath. And it should be a bright, happy-looking beer: this is a Summer Seasonal for Lagunitas, and a nice change of pace from the Imperial Stouts I’ve been enjoying lately.

Going along with the Summer Seasonal status, this beer has a light body, bright carbonation and a lovely light malt/wheat/hop balance with tons of flavor. I’m not usually big on wheat beers, so I wasn’t sure what I was going to think of this one. It turns out (unsurprisingly, knowing me) that dumping in a metric ton of hops is going to make a winner to my tastebuds: the wheat added a touch of body, the malts kept the beer slightly sweet, and the hops tromped all over everything in mounds of happy grapefruit insanity. They continued on into the aftertaste, covering up the day-old bread aftertaste that so many wheat beers get that in turn make me not overly fond of wheat beers.

All in all, this was a decided win. It wasn’t what I’d intended on having for my first beer of the year, but it was a good way to start. If I get lucky, maybe my year will be as insanely bright and happy as is this beer.

When the 2011 batch comes out, get yourself some. Good stuff.

*You can tell a brewery loves their hops when they’re calculating the IBUs to the hundredth of a decimal place. Goodness.

About Kim

Kim spends a lot of time writing, thinking about writing, reading, writing more and dealing with writer's block. When she's not writing, she might be found having a beer. She often combines the writing experience with the beer experience. The combination tends to lead to more creativity but significantly impaired spelling.
This entry was posted in Beer Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

