Odell 5 Barrel Pale Ale

Basic Info:
Name:
5 Barrel Pale Ale
Origin: Odell Brewing Co., Colorado
Style: English Pale Ale
ABV: 5.2%
IBU:
I drank this: on tap at Waldo Pizza, KCMO

.

.

.

Dudes. I love having the ability to put pics of the beer up!

I’ll start off by saying that as an English Pale Ale, this shouldn’t be too strongly hoppy. The ur-EPA in my mind is Bass; St. Peters does a great one, and if you’d like to try a good Stateside version, Schlafly’s is excellent. EPAs tend to be well-balanced, with enough malts to give some sweetness and sturdiness to the hops.

The Odell misses the mark on this. It’s brightly hoppy – not all the way to American Pale Ale, much less India Pale Ale – but hoppier than I’d expect for an English Pale Ale. So I’ll throw out there that while I think the beer is pretty decent, I have troubles with the classification of it.

On to the actual beer. You can see the color of it – nice and bright amber with a touch of white head. The nose is all Cascades-y floral-citrus hops with a touch of almost honeyed sweetness behind it.

Flavor-wise, this is bright hops with a thick malty undercurrent. There are definitely malts here in a way a lot of APAs don’t bother with, so I can sort of see why they’re going with an EPA classification (though I will stick with my idea that I think this is over-hopped for an EPA). My notes sum up drinking this beer as the liquid equivalent of a biscuit with grapefruit/grass/rosemary/honey jam on top. I have weird taste buds, so I’ll throw out there that the combo sounds really good to me.

The aftertaste, however, is this weirdly bitter-sour mash of malts. BLEH. I drank this beer quickly, because drinking more of it seemed to be the best way to kill the aftertaste. I was out of pizza at that point, so I can’t say as to whether or not food would have helped.

The best thing I can say for this beer is that it might be a good starter pale ale for people who are just beginning to get into hops, so long as the aftertaste doesn’t bother them.

About Kim

Kim spends a lot of time writing, thinking about writing, reading, writing more and dealing with writer's block. When she's not writing, she might be found having a beer. She often combines the writing experience with the beer experience. The combination tends to lead to more creativity but significantly impaired spelling.
This entry was posted in Beer Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

