Grimbergen Dubbel

My first experience with this beer was last Summer, when I had a sip of my brother’s two seconds after I’d had a few sips of Avery Maharaja (read: HOP BOMB EXTRAORDINAIRE). Suffice it to say that, in my over-hopped mouth-state, I had no idea what the Grimbergen actually tasted like – my mind retained a dim idea of something along the lines of “apple,” and “apple” seemed roughly like the type of thing my tastebuds would come up with after the Maharaja(i.e., something wrong). So I was surprised when “apple” came to mind even on perfectly fresh taste buds.

It’s nice to find out sometimes that I’m not completely out of my mind.

Basic Info:
Name:
Grimbergen Dubbel
Origin: Brouwerij Alken-Maes, Belgium
Style: Dubbel
ABV: 6.5%
IBU: no idea, but low
I drank this: at Barley’s, Shawnee, KS

(The real color of the beer is closest to the edge right around the bottom of the glass. Or, well, the pen next to the glass.)

.                     

This beer is a lovely deep auburn color with a nice, thickly-bubbled head. I don’t think the color shows up well here at all – if anyone out there knows how to make the flash on a Samsung Transform flash not *quite* so blindingly, I’d love to learn the secret.

Anyway, it smells like fruity-caramelly brown sugar, definitely leaning into the apple range of fruitiness. It’s a pleasant smell – the type of thing that makes me think “this would be AWESOME with brie.”

This is a really lovely, fairly sweet ale with touches of maple, apple, brown sugar and tons of malt. It’s a full and rich and layered flavor. It goes to straight apple right at the swallow, and then shifts into a malty, almost slightly white floral aftertaste.* For some reason, paperwhites came to mind in the aftertaste phase.

It’s a nice switch from the Chimays out there. Chimays tend to be really high in carbonation – to the point where it’s almost painful to drink – whereas the carbonation in the Grimbergen Dubbel is quite low for a Belgian Ale. It has a soft mouthfeel, almost creamy, but coupled with just enough acidity to keep it from being syrupy. This is a beer that would be really good with food.

 For a Belgian beer, I think this is one of the more approachable brews available. Belgians can be really difficult to get into because they tend to be quite a bit different from everything people are used to. They’re stronger, sweeter, thicker, and some of them – namely Saisons – can get into all kinds of sour yeast horse barn funk that is really off-putting at first (kind of like hops can be, when I think about it). The Grimbergen doesn’t have any of the sour funkiness that a lot of Belgians have, so it’s a great gateway beer. Try one sometime, especially if you’ve had/liked Chimay’s Red label.

_______________________________________________________

*I’m still blown away that I noticed apple in there, because I was absolutely convinced that my thoughts of apple last August had more to do with hop-mouth than with anything actually going on in the beer. Basically, I feel far too proud of myself right now.

About Kim

Kim spends a lot of time writing, thinking about writing, reading, writing more and dealing with writer's block. When she's not writing, she might be found having a beer. She often combines the writing experience with the beer experience. The combination tends to lead to more creativity but significantly impaired spelling.
This entry was posted in Beer Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Grimbergen Dubbel

  1. merrilysd says:

    You could try putting one of those white coffee filters over the flash, I’ve heard people doing that to diffuse the light.

    Great post by the way, I like your style.

  2. Kim says:

    Aw, thanks! I clicked over to your blog too – I didn’t see a way to subscribe, but I totally will if there is a way to.
    Thanks for the coffee filter tip – I will try that ASAP. I love finally being able to add pictures to this blog, but it’s frustrating that the pictures are turning out wonky because the light’s all wrong.

  3. merrilysd says:

    Great suggestion on the subscribe button.

    Another thing you could try when shooting the beer is using a separate light source? Looking forward to seeing what works out.

Leave a Reply

