Crispin The Jacket Cider

 Dear Crispin Ciders,
I find myself having a problem. There are multiple Limited Release Ciders on your website that I would dearly, dearly love to get my grubby paws on (namely The Four Musketeers and Br’er Rabbit). How might I do so? If I need drive to your HQ, that’s fine, but I need to know this so I can plan it for a day when we don’t get 8+ inches of snow.
Smooches,
Kim
P.S. I love you and would like to subscribe to your newsletter.

_______________________________________________________________

Basic Info:
Name:
The Jacket
Origin: Crispin Cider
Style: Cider, brought all the way up to 11*
ABV: 8.3%
I drank this: poured from the bottle, provided to me by Derek Bean of Crispin Ciders (thank you!), shared with my brother after his nasty drive home in multiple inches of snow on a series of roads shared with people who have evidently never driven cars before (i.e., he had a crap day, loves cider and loves whiskey, and I felt it would be horribly rude of me not to share this lovely stuff with him).

Crispin describes this cider on the label as “a blend of four unique apple-wines; fermented with Belgian Trappist ale yeast; Irish Stout yeast; wild fermentation heirloom cider-apple wine & Colfax Classic apple-wine: all aged in Tennessee Whiskey barrels. Finished with unfiletered Gravenstein apple-juice aged in the same casks.”

So, what does this tell us?** Basically it says that Crispin has taken a blend of their other ciders and aged them in what amounts to Jack Daniels barrels. This never would have occurred to me to try, which is probably why I’m the one writing a blog and they’re the ones making a (huge, I hope) profit. Because this cider is amazing. It is the bestest of all best ciders I’ve ever had.

The Jacket begins with a really rich smell of apples with a hint of wood and a touch of whiskey.*** It’s warm and wonderful, sort of like wassail.

The flavor comes in waves – it’s one of those drinks that is complex enough that it has to be broken down into moments. It begins with a hint of whiskey at the tip of the tongue, touched by a hint of yeast. That’s followed by a warm, slightly thick apple flavor with hints of wood and spice, which is followed again by whiskey at the swallow. There’s enough carbonation to be noticeable, but it’s still very smooth. The aftertaste is a really balanced combination of apple and whiskey.

Compared to other Crispin ciders I’ve had, this is the least overtly yeasty – the flavors are all so perfectly balanced that nothing stands out in particular, yet it all works together to make something amazing. It’s like alchemy.

It’s glorious. GLORIOUS. Like, I would date this cider if I could. This cider is like the apple wine equivalent of Clive Owen in a smoking jacket. *drool*

So Crispin, I think y’all are slightly insane for all the odd things you keep doing to cider, but I love you for it completely. Keep on keeping on, and I will do my level best to figure out how to get my grubby paws on more of this divine nectar.

_______________________________________________________________
*If you don’t know this reference, you need to watch better movies.
**Other than someone needs to spend a couple of weeks reading Reasoning With Vampires and then revisit the punctuation issues.
***I am a loser side note: I actually *have* a perfume of this. It’s BPAL’s Fearful Pleasure, a Limited Edition perfume from fall 2008.

About Kim

Kim spends a lot of time writing, thinking about writing, reading, writing more and dealing with writer's block. When she's not writing, she might be found having a beer. She often combines the writing experience with the beer experience. The combination tends to lead to more creativity but significantly impaired spelling.
This entry was posted in Beer Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

